Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:40 p.m. - 2005-05-07
Closer to finding the dream home

It was perfect....for me.

This is Mike and I when we look at houses.

ME: "Oh, I love this room...Oh!, Look at the storage....OOOHHH...there's even a built in bookcase....WOW!!!...I Love it!!!

MIKE: "Silence as he looks and scrutinizes every little thing with a poker face."

Me: "Oh, this is the house....we've got to have this house...it's just perfect...don't you think it's perfect?"

MIKE: "HMMM" then more silence and more poker face...a shake of the head in the "No" direction and a comment about the garage being too small and the siding needing eventual replacement."

Within about 2 minutes, the realtor figures out that she just better leave him alone and concentrate on me.

It had 3 huge bedrooms upstairs and a bigger bathroom than we are used to. It had a nice Library/Den downstairs, next to the ample living room that featured a beautiful open staircase. It had a huge dining room an eat in kitchen and a very very large sunroom with lots of windows and brown, real wood paneling.

It had parquet floors throughout.

It had a powder room on the lower level.

It had a completely refinished basement with another bedroom, a main portion (I'm thinking home theater here) and a second kitchen...yes...a whole second kitchen...Which I need like I need a hole in the head but hey...who doesn't need an extra hole in the head.

It had enough storage to hold all of our current clutter and crap and enough more to accumulate even more clutter and crap.

The 1 1/2 car garage, which hubby is not happy about, has a 2nd floor loft with a staircase going up to it.

And then there's the yard....Ooooooh. A gardeners and yard lovers paradise...with 2..count them 2 beautiful areas perfect for the most perfect heirloom veggie garden and plenty of room for romping....
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

or for Croquet


.
My sister will get a laugh out of this one. I will write about why we laugh at croquet and extra bicycles in another posting.

I loved this house. It is a bit out of our price range but we won't be ready to make any bids for a couple of months. In that time, if it comes down on price, (but it won't, nothing that is good stays on the market for long) then maybe we will bid. I am working on my husband who is not as thrilled about the place as I am (only because there is not enough garage for 2 cars and his "guest bikes") and when our time is right, maybe we can get it for less.

We are still in the "fact finding" mode of our house hunt. We aren't ready to buy yet and working everyday toward making our current home "Sale Ready." In the mean time we will just keep looking.

P. I. Yarnsmith.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!