Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:42 p.m. - 2005-03-24
Do the chickens at this Walgreens lay golden eggs?

The Many Faces of Walgreens

Today, during lunch hour, I needed to go to Walgreens. I have a choice of the Muslim Walgreens or the Rich Walgreens. Both are equal distance and I have been to Muslim Walgreens many times but have only driven past Rich Walgreens.

Today, I chose Rich Walgreens. Rich Walgreens is in the suburb of Glen Ellyn, Illinois, a village comprised of beautiful victorian era and 1920's era mansions. Even their tiny houses are beautiful. It costs a fortune to live in Glen Ellyn. Even if you could afford a house in this affluent suburb, you have to figure that your real estate taxes would match the mortgage payment on the mansion.

I often wondered if the Glen Ellyn Walgreens looked like the poor man's Walgreens.

The Muslim Walgreens looks like all other Walgreenses except they have a Muslim food aisle. That and the fact that there are many women of "cover" shopping there is why I call it Muslim Walgreens.

The outside of Rich Glen Ellyn Walgreens was fancy schmancy. No typical red brick, cloned Walgreens here. It was a brand new building but made to look old fashioned and upscale like the neighborhood.

Inside, it looked like any other Walgreens, but I must say, I was a bit dismayed. It was in a state of disarray. Having once been a mystery shopper of Walgreens, I would have not given them a good mark for order and cleanliness.

I wondered who in ultra wealthy Glen Ellyn would work in a Walgreens. Did they have to import people? One trip around the store proved that the store was manned by the moronic and retarded of Glen Ellyn....people who were too stupid to work anywhere else.

As I approached the counter to pay for my stuff, A strange looking girl asked me if I wanted to buy a candy bar. When I said "no thank you", she just stared at me like I had my clothes on backwards or something.

As she rang up my purchase, she was conversing with a young man. He was stocking the shelves with stuffed animals. One of the animals played music and the music went off as he picked it up. It was a stuffed chicken and it played "The Chicken Dance."

The young woman behind the counter said "That's the Chicken Dance...do you want me to do the Chicken Dance?"

The young man looked at her and she stopped checking out my purchase and started doing the chicken dance right behind the cash register.

I have now changed the name of that Walgreens to "Twilight Zone Walgreens."

OH, and I have had that stupid Chicken Dance song running through my head all day long.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!