Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:38 a.m. - 2007-04-28
Live from Nanoland

WEEKEND UPDATE

To think I used to update every day. Now I work too much and have no life. Well, hopefully that will change. We lost a key employee because we are forced to work long hours with out extra pay or bonus and don't even get an attaboy or one of those "you can't put ketchup on that" pats on the back.....Now I found out that the most valuable employee of the company has given his two weeks notice....this says alot because this employee is brother in law to one of the owners. He is leaving for the same reason. To quote K, "after you've worked for Nanoman, working for anyone else, no matter who they are would be like gravy".

This is not good news for Nanoman as our company just grew four fold overnight and we are already struggling to keep up with the demand. On top of this, to save money, Nanoman had no intention of replacing the first employee who left, deciding instead to spread his workload around on employees already over burdened.

He called me in to his office to tell me of the turn of events, then said "So...I need you to come in early, leave late and work through lunch every day."

I waited for him to say "and because of the profitablity of the company this quarter, I'm willing to compensate you for the extra effort" but he did not say that. I already put in many extra hours for no pay...did not get a raise this year and now he has the gall to ask that I work harder and longer to cover his ass because he is a lousy boss.

I smiled and nodded...you just don't tell Nanoman No...it's fruitless. I also need to leave this place with a good reference. However, I did not stay late and I did not come in early the next day and I don't plan on it.

I came home that night, updated my resume and bought new clothes for interviewing.

I would love to take the first thing offered, leave the company as soon as possible and add to his plight of having no one to do the work he needs to sustain the growth....that would be my bit of revenge, but as the saying goes..."revenge is a dish best served cold"....thus...I will not jump from frying pan into fire but will only apply for jobs that appeal to me, #1 being that it pay well and #2 being that is be closer to home (I paid $3.17 for gas yesterday...working close to home would be like a raise in itself) and I want to be compensated for any late hours or in case of a high salary and a bonus program, I would also be willing to put in extra.....but I will not flop out of this job and into another like it just to piss off Nanoman...that would be self defeating.

Also, I don't think any of this is hurting Nanoman...it is only hurting my beloved co workers who are the ones absorbing the extra stress and work while Nanoman gleefully faces this challenge with the zest he faces all challenges. I have decided that to be a business owner, you must find business fun and exhilarating. You must enjoy work the way the rest of us enjoy leisure activities. You must thrive on adversity and get a drug like rush from overcoming insurmountable obstacles. Because of this observation...I've decided that my leaving will not hurt him but give him another drug like rush while the poor schleps left behind suffer.

So....beginning NOW....A JOB HUNTING WE WILL GO!!!!

CICADARAMA

We here in the upper midwest are bracing ourselves for the return on the 17 year cicada infestation. Every 17 years around the last week of May, these 1" long creepy creatures crawl out of the ground at the rate of 1-1/2 million per acre. They climb the trees and shed their skin and become these black creatures with glowing red eyes and their only purpose is to mate vigorously, lay eggs and die. They mate up tail to tail and fly around while they do it. Walking outside means having to walk through clouds of them flinging themselves at you, not because they bite but because they are just flinging themselves in a wild sexual frenzy and not really looking where they are flinging themselves.

They sit in the trees and sing and chirp and you can't even hear yourself think for the loudness of it. Once they bonk and lay their eggs they die, their huge plump bodies covering the ground thicker than leaves in autumn. To walk you literally walk on top of them and hear the crunch under your feet. It is not a fun time in Chicagoland or anywhere else they emerge.

Animals and birds gorge themselves on them and even people can eat them...you can find recipes on line that tell you how to cook and serve them (Right...that'll be me).

When it is over and done, the eggs hatch and these plump white grubs begin to drop from the trees and they burrow underground and over the course of the next 17 years, they live underground waiting to hit puberty and emerge again to ruin a month of a summer 17 years hence.

I am going out now to enjoy my yard because come the end of May, the yard is given over to bugs until the end of June when we will be faced with cleaning up shovel fulls of stinking, rotting bug carcasses.

Anyone want to come visit?

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!