Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:50 p.m. - 2004-06-17
Cheesus
Ok...I am back from my meeting now. I always feel more grounded after this meeting...helps me put things into perspective.

I have somewhat of a odd sense of humor and never know when I am overstepping my bounds and offending someone or not. All I know, is what I find funny.

Today, I sent a photograph I found on the internet of a block of cheddar cheese carved into a statue of Jesus and the caption under it was "cheezus". Now, I have Christian beliefs myself and certainly would not want to be disrespectful or irreverent, but this made me laugh....I mean, rolling on the floor laugh. Every time I thought about it, I laughed so hard, and found it just as funny 12 hours later as I did when I saw it.

I simply saw it as a statue carved in cheese and a play on words. Like I said, I guess my sense of humor is a little warped, and I have been told more than once that I have to watch what I say, but I really didn't think this was overstepping the line.

I sent the picture of the statue made of cheddar to everyone on my email list with the remark that this is what Green Bay Packer Fans must have on their dash boards. I hope I am not offending any Packer fans, it is just that being a Chicago Bears fan always has me looking for jabs to make at my freinds who root for Green Bay, and I am more than willing to endure jabs at the Bears in return. I want to apologize to chaosdaily right off the bat...I don't need to lose any new freinds.

Any way.....I guess I really offended one person on my list, who seems to think that the block of cheddar was really, literally, the body of Christ. I certainly hope that the body of Christ is firmly seated at the right hand of God our Father in Heaven, and not inhabiting a block of cheese.

OK....Now I've done it...I have been honest about something that may offend people but hey...I'm putting it out there....I still find it funny.

I believe that Jesus has a sense of humor and would laugh at this himself. The Jesus I believe in is not some sourpuss who only associates with those who act pious and holy. The Jesus I believe in, and the Jesus of the bible hung out with the sinners, and of that I am sure I am one.

Good night all...I apologize to anyone who I may offend...I am just trying to have a little fun.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!