Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:30 p.m. - 2004-06-08
Kitchen clean out
Too hot to go out today. I decided that I am tired of cooking, shopping and meal planning. My husband hasn't worked in 2 years and it doesn't look like he is planning on it any time soon. I am tired of pulling all the weight and I have gained too much of that anyway.

>

I am now in the process of doing a total kitchen clean out....meaning that I will not set foot in a grocery store until we have eaten every thing in the freezer, fridge and cabinets....even if we have to eat plain brown rice. This is the only way that Every little thing gets used up.

>

I had to use up a bag of potatos that have been in there for 3 weeks and the celery was starting to go bad, so I made potato salad...YUM!!! Gotta watch that. Then 4 weeks ago, I bought a little bag of teeny weeny tiny key limes. They were the size of walnuts and I only bought them because they were cute and only 99 cents. Now tell me, does a sane person buy food because it is cute? Well, they were starting to turn so I spent an hour cutting and squeezing them and I ended up getting 1/2 cup of key lime juice that I don't know what I will do with. I guess I could make a key lime pie, but that defeats any weight loss efforts and I would have to go shopping and buy more stuff, so I just froze the lime juice for now. It is expensive and I guess 1/2 cup of lime juice might cost me 1.50, so I saved it.

>

Where is this all leading? Well, I decided that after I completely clean out my pantry and fridge, I will completely fill my freezer with Lean Cuisines and my cabinets with Zone bars and my frige with baby spinach and fat free rasberry vinegrette and other veggies. That is what I will eat. I will not have to think about food....a Zone bar for Breakfast, a salad for lunch and lean cuisine for dinner....Out of sight....Out of mind...out of my gut.

>

This will fullfill 3 wishes. The wish to stay out of the grocery stores which will free up more time, the wish to stop thinking about food and not have to wonder "what we will have", and the wish to stop thinking about food, thereby setting myself up to overeat. From this point on, food is cardboard....fuel....nothing more.

>

Ok, well, I do have that potato salad yet and a party on Saturday and Mother in Laws birthday cake on Sunday and a few ice cream sandwiches that absolutely MUST be cleaned out of the freezer....Oh..and there's those Mrs. Field Cookies that are just sitting there taking up space...gotta use them up...Sigh!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!