Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:53 p.m. - 2004-06-05
Gardens, beautiful day and Ronald Regan
Kitchen clean, clog unclogged and I have spent one heck of a gorgeous day outside.

There is a little patch of unplanted ground around my townhome and it once had a bush in it but the bush died. Technically, it is my upstairs neighbors gardening spot, but none of the neighbors who have lived there have ever taken care of it, and the landscapers never planted another bush so 4 years ago, I dumped several bags of marble chips on this 4 x 4 spot, intending to dress it up with flower pots and ornments.

I never did put out the flower pots and the little marble chunks eventually got trampled into the dirt and the white became dirty looking and the spot became unsightly.

Today, I hand removed every single stone from that spot. I bent over at the waist, I squatted, I duck walked, I sat in the dirt and I picked and dug and picked and dug and got every marble chunk out of there and hauled it around to the other side of the house to dump it in a spot by the foundation that gets too muddy after rain.

After that, I dug all the soil up and turned it and busted up the clods, and planted a carpet rose bush. It is a little rosebush that stays low to the ground and is very pretty. There is room for some other things there, so I will go to Walmart or Home Depot tomorrow to get some more stuff. On top of that, I dug up my chives which have finished blooming and had taken over a huge piece of garden. I only need one little chive plant for my cooking so I figured that it was time to thin them out. I planted a dwarf hydrangea in the place of the chives and did some weeding. Then I had to clean up all the chive pieces. (Boy, between yesterday and today, I sure have had enough chive. I don't think I could cook with a chive right now if my life depended on it. I plan on really sleeping in tomorrow, so I am updating tonight, while I listen to the radio talk about my hero, Ronald Regan.

Don't worry, I am not about to get political and really don't care about anybody elses politics and am not going to go off and pontificate about my views, but I just found him to be an exceptional human being and am in awe of him. I am in awe of him for more than his Presidency. His writing, his speaking, his amazing almost "charmed" life. He is bigger than life to me. I even took a "vacation" to rural Dixon Illinois and saw his home. Just glad for Nancy's sake that it is over. That Alzheimers is evil.

I digress. I am so sore and so sleepy from scrubbing, picking, squatting, bending, digging and duck walking, that I can hardly move. I am going to pay for this tomorrow. At least I worked off the too much pizza I had for dinner.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!