Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:57 p.m. - 2004-06-05
Putrid Green Chive Disposal Puke Story
Last night...I decided to give my kitchen a good cleaning....cabinets...behind things...the whole 9 yards.

One of the phases my now defunct little business, Dustys Garden, went through was that of a culinary herb shop. I closed the buiness August of 2002 and had lots of bulk herbs in jars left over. Some were in gallon size jars and most in quart size jars...some smaller. They were high quality and still good so I took these home with me.

I put these up in my cabinets at home intending to use what I could. Because I am short and these jars were stacked way the heck up there....I never really bothered to use them on a regular basis. It was too much of a hassle to get them down when in the middle of cooking.

I finally decided to get rid of the whole lot as they were over a year old and I really need the cabinet space. I figured I would put the jars in the garage and give them to a friend or put them in the garage sale I want to have this summer.

Here is where I got stupid. I was running low on garbage bags and rather than take up a whole bag and dump them......I turned on my gargage disposal and proceeded to dump.

The first cabinet full of stuff went down with out incident. When I got to the second cabinet...the one with all the gallon jars....here is where I ran into trouble.

Down went a gallon of Cilantro...no sweat.....down went a gallon of dried parsley....no problem...after that a gallon on whole bay leaves....still ok....then came the gallon of dried chives (which I don't know why I kept, because I grow them and use them fresh).

The garbage disposal not only stopped taking the chives...it dredged back up some soapy water from washing something out before I started the herb dump. There in my sink was a swirling mass of soapy...pureed chive water swirling away but not going down. I strained as much as I could out and kept turning on the disposal hoping that it would unblock and start grinding again.....then the other side of the sink started backing up. I took a plunger and started plunging the disposal side and my husband said he heard noises coming from the dishwasher and I had better stop before I drive chive water into the dishwasher. I plunged the other side of the sink and it went down.

At that point I was filled with hope that because that side went down....the disposal side would work again and turned it on.....it swirled and swished and mashed more chive but still wasnt sucking anything down. It was belching and blowing chunks of chive like it was vomiting.

I watched this appliance puke chive water....hoping it would puke up enough of it and I could strain it out and eventually unclog it. At that point...I was standing in front of the other side of the sink.

All of a sudden....there was a huge belch and a tidal wave of putrid, green chive, water came gushing out of the other side of the sink...covering me...the counter tops...anything on the counter tops and the floor (even all the way accross the room) with the slimy green stinking mess. (Think Dr. Suess book again.

There I was at 8:30 at night cleaning up the mess.

My sink is plugged solid....I have no idea how far into the pipes the plug goes. My husband refuses to even look at it. He wants to call my neighbor, Harry the plumber over to look at it today. I feel bad as this will be the second time in the last 6 months that we have bothered Harry.

Harry is too nice to charge us for it even I insist. I wish I could call a plumber we could pay as there is no favor I could do for Harry to pay him back.

Anyway...in the cleaning of my kitchen cabinets....I made an even bigger mess in the outside of my kitchen which I had planned on cleaning last night until I had to mop up disposer puke. I need to go get to that now as I am too embarrassed to have a plumber come in and see the mess.

I am getting tired just thinking about it. I sure hope that clog doesn't go way out somewhere. Mike is mad at me for putting that down the disposal...but hey....it's a garbage disposal....I mean it chops up carrots and coffee beans and all kinds of rock hard things.....who would know it would have trouble with some chopped herbs.

Last night....I dreamed all night of different plumbers coming into the kitchen and shaking their heads saying there was nothing they could do for me except completely replumb my kitchen.

Then I had a dream that I was pulling spinach or seaweed or something out of my disposer for hours. I feel like I have been working on that sink all night...still tired this morning.

I am trying to laugh at this.....I really am.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!