Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:08 a.m. - 2004-05-29
The Olden Days
It has been a few days since I updated. My creative juices have not been flowing and I have not done much of anything that anyone would be interested in reading.

Got a new digital camera Wednesday night. Mike is thrilled and stayed up late into the night to play with it. Now I have to learn how to use it. That is one thing I don't have much tolerance for....learning things. I have been meaning to learn a little html so that I could put some links and photographs in this diary, but learning that kind of stuff is boring to me and I always think of something else I would rather do. I do wish there were 48 hours in a day and that I had the energy to go for 40 hours. Of course in my 48 hour per day world, we would still only have to work 8 hours and sleep 8 hours and eat only 3 meals per day so that all that extra time would be for doing things and learning things.

OBSERVATIONS:

REMEMBER --The Toni Home Permanent? This came to mind while watching an old episode of Leave It To Beaver the other day. (See in my 48 hour world I would have time to do what I am supposed to do and get to watch Beaver.) Anyway, Eddie Haskel talked about how a lady who took care of him when he was little gave him a home permanent and sent him to school. That reminded me of the EVIL HOME PERMANEMT my mother gave me in the 4th grade just before picture time. Now, at this time the style young girls all wanted for their hair was stick straight. I guess my mother wanted me to have curly hair which was the style that little girls could die for back in the "Olden Days". She bought a Toni Home Permanent and despite all my crying, gave it to me anyway. The result was sort of a permanent "Just got out of bed" look. I cried every day until it grew out. I think I was even crying in my class picture. If I find that old picture and figure out how to put pictures on this diary, I will show you.

Another observation from my "Olden Days" came to mind while watching the latest episode of "The Simpsons". In the episode, Principal Skinner got out an old Mimeograph machine. He ran a paper off on it and picked it up and put his nose to it and deeply inhaled. I laughed so hard. Kids today will never know the joys of inhaling mimeograph ink. Remember when the teacher would pass out a test or some kind of handout that was fresh off the press? The whole class would instantly pick it up and smell the paper until the smell was all gone. We would practically inhale the paper trying to get that last little bit of smell out of it. It was almost addicting. It was better than smelling chocolate chip cookies right out of the oven. Sometimes I wonder if we got a mild buzz off of it. I still can't figure out how the smell of that ink was so pleasant as to cause entire classes of students, all across the country to engage in the same behavior. Maybe it was a secret plot the teachers used to keep us focused on the task....a "drug" planted in the ink. Now that mimeograph machines are no longer used, look at how many kids are on Ritalin. I wonder if there is some kind of correlation here? Funny, I can still conjure up a memory of what that smell smelled like, sort of a sweet chemically smell. Remember that?

Hey, as long as I am on the subject of "The Olden Days", do kids still clip playing cards to their bicycle spokes with a clothes pin? Do they even make clothespins anymore. Remember that crisp tick tick tick tick tick sound it made as you rode your bike down the street and you could pretend you had a motor attached? Would a kid today think that was nerdy?

That is about all the memories I can conjure up today. I will have to go watch some more Beaver or Andy Griffith or something to get inspired on this subject again. BYE BYE!!!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!