Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:00 p.m. - 2004-05-22
Rainy day blues
These endless days of rain have me wanting to either stay in bed or put a bullet in my head. Since I have a broken down mattress, staying in bed all day is too painful, I suppose putting a gun to my head would be painful to, so I guess I am stuck here writing in this diary.

Mike and I went up the the Park District's, Farm House museum today because the Gardening Club was having their Spring Planting Festival. Not much up there except for some old women dressed up in pioneer garb and some flea marketers with their "antiques". It looked more like junk to me.

The gardening club was selling plants for the garden and they were generaly pretty high priced compared to Home Depot and Walmart, but I was able to find some Sweet Woodruff and some other kind of pretty verigated shady ground cover to spruce up the netherworlds of my garden where the sun hardly shines.

My one deal of the day was the purchase of a dwarf hydrangea bush for the front of the house. I have wanted a hydrangea for years now, but they are fairly expensive and can get too large for the spot I have it intended for. This specimen, being a dwarf variety, will fit nicely in my little condo garden and it was only $10.00...what a deal!!!!!

I also took old photographs that had belonged to our parents up to the archiver's store and copied them all so my two sisters and I will have copies of each photograph. We will split the originals up between the three of us, but we will also now have our own copies. This was expensive, $67.00, but considering that I copied about 50 photos or more, it is a pretty good deal. We will split the price between the three of us, so it won't cost either of us more than 22.50. I don't know what I am going to do with all these photos, but it is all we have to remember our parents by and what goes to Australia to live with Diane will likely never be seen here again, so best to copy them.

It is only 5:13PM and feels like 9:00PM. I think it is done storming until tomorrow, but the sky is a permanent shade of dark grey and the humidity is stifling.

I guess if I can manage to cut the pictures apart I copied onto 12 x 18 acid free paper and sorted into piles and boxed up to send to Diane, I can at least say I did something today.

I wanted to write a story, but my creativity is dead today along with my mood. I promised myself I would do a little writing each day, so here it is.

Am I depressing you as much as I am depressing myself?

Bye for now.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!