Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:26 p.m. - 2005-04-05
Takin a peek inside

I'm gonna go take a look at it

Judging by the response in my notes section, I am not the only one who liked the pictures of the sweet little house in Elgin.

It sits real straight, unlike some of the others for the same low price with the sagging porches and peeling paint. This one looks just as cute in real life as it does in the pictures. Elgin is an old historic city with alot of formerly beautiful homes. Some are being rehabbed, yet a crack house is likely to sit next to a beautiful, antique laden painted lady. One of these days the historic district will be completely restored and beautiful again, then the property values will skyrocket.

This little house though has the advantage of being in a nicely kept neighborhood. There is not a crack house in site and it sort of sits like a little roped off island of its own next to beautuful Lord's Park which was built in the 1800's and houses a museum. Lords Park is within a block of my little house. The lot is between 1/4 and 1/2 acre, making it 1/2 again as large as a normal city lot and backs up to a church parking lot and another park.

The price on it is only 157,000.00. It is tiny....actually...teeny tiny, but it is big enough for two soulmates, or one single person. This is not a home I could move into with the hubby.

It has been on the market awhile and usually a good deal in Elgin does not last long. This is why I wonder what is wrong with it. I am hoping that it just needs a complete updating...new furnace, appliances..etc....I could handle that. Anyway, even though this is still in dream stage, I am going to go look at it. I was just there on Saturday when having had enough of my lazy husband, I took off in a huff and the house started calling my name. I meandered to and fro and found myself in front of it, my desire to leave my marriage and this cracker box, stronger than ever.

Without going into too long of a story, Saturday, I completely blew.

The bed I sleep on is antique. One of the slats that hold up the mattress falls out once every six months or so and I find myself having to lift the mattress and box spring off and put it back in, where it usually stays for another 6 months. Saturday morning, I heard the slat hit the floor and the mattress and box spring took a tilt toward the floor.

Since Mike sleeps til 2PM, I decided to just lift the mattress and box spring off myself in the tiny 9' x 9' room and fix it. This is done with great difficulty and usually means knocking my pictures off the walls.

This time, I would no sooner get the matress set back in place and sit on the mattress than the slat would fall out again. I lifted that set off and on 4 times. Each time the slat fell off, it would hit the floor and make a loud clang. The huffing and puffing and the noise of the pictures frames hitting the floor and my loud cussing was enough to wake the dead, but not Mike. I actually hoped that he had died, but no such luck.

Finally, I sat out in the living room and balled like a baby, again, loud enough to wake the dead.

Finally at 2PM he got up. I was half out the door and started screaming at him about how he just HAD to have heard me lifting that set on and off and cussing, huffing, puffind and crying.

He said "I heard you, that's why I got up. Let me have some coffee and wake up and I'll help you."

I exploded again about how he doesn't work, doesn't do anything around the house and then I have to wait til 4PM until he is finally woken up enough to do something. I told him, forget it, I don't need him, I'll fix it myself.

I came home hours later, to a completely repaired bed. He took most of it apart, reglued some unglued joints and reinforced a weak spot.

All he has talked about in the last two days is what a good job he has done putting that bed back together. He also took some lemon beeswax cleaner and polished it up like new for me.

All this work over the last 3 days took maybe 3 hours....In that time, I have worked 22 to support us.

I am NOT amused...but I will take whatever help is doled out until I figure out when and where to say goodbye.

Looking at my dreamhouse may just make this decision easier and easier.

Thanks for all the comments and support.

P. I. Yarnsmith.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!