Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:15 p.m. - 2005-03-16
Naughty words

Fooling around...with words

"Come on Baaaby, he said with a long monophthong. But straining his
Diphthong, he was left with a dangling participal."

The other day when I wrote about British and Australian accents, I received a note from Hissandtell She was talking about the different Australian accents in various parts of Australia and mentioned that in the Southern cities, they "strine" their diphthongs.

For the last couple of days, the idea of strained diphthongs has been playing word games in my head. It sounds absolutely naughty. Another gramatical curiosity that has always gotten a laugh from my inner voice is that of a dangling participal. Just as "hanging chad" got us all laughing back in the election of 2000.

I just had to purge the thought of strained diphthongs and dangling participals from my head and wrote the above sentance hoping for a couple of laughs. I hope my participal dangles enough and that his strained diphthong doesn't keep him under for too long.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!