Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry






8:04 p.m. - 2005-03-14
It's all in how you use the language

Commonly Confused English Words Test

I stole this quiz off of Cosmicrayola's diary and I must excalim that I am extremely disappointed in myself. As I took the test, I smugly thought about how smart I was going to appear when I pasted my 100% correct score on to my page here. How devestated I was to find out that I only scored 66 percent in the expert range. I pride myself in my grammar and word usage. Although the test says it is an extemely good score, I think it sucks.

Did I ever mention that I am a perfectionist? I am NOT allowed to get anything wrong. (self imposed rule).

TABLE cellPadding=20 align=center>

Advanced
You scored 93% Beginner, 86% Intermediate, 87% Advanced, and 66% Expert!
You have an extremely good understanding of beginner, intermediate, and advanced level commonly confused English words, getting at least 75% of each of these three levels' questions correct. This is an exceptional score. Remember, these are commonly confused English words, which means most people don't use them properly. You got an extremely respectable score.

Thank you so much for taking my test. I hope you enjoyed it!


For the complete Answer Key, visit my blog: http://shortredhead78.blogspot.com/.








My test tracked 4 variables How you compared to other people your age and gender:



















You scored higher than 24% on Beginner





You scored higher than 24% on Intermediate





You scored higher than 24% on Advanced





You scored higher than 32% on Expert
Link: The Commonly Confused Words Test written by shortredhead78 on Ok Cupid

I started my job 2 1/2 months ago. For that entire time there has been a two foot high stack of back logged papers on my table next to my desk. Today I finished them. Joe left me alone all day, well sort of, and I stayed until 6:30PM and finished my giant stack of papers. That is good because while I was finishing my giant stack of papers a new pile grew to gigantic proportions behind my back.

Since the work I had to do was very repetitive and boring today and Joe will NOT let me whistle while I work, I had to come up with another way to entertain my brain while I shuffled paper.

I talked to my self in a British accent all day long. Oh No, not outloud of course, but to myself, in my head. It was funny.

Funny things always sound funnier in a British accent and profound things sound more profound. You can sound charming and witty, naughty and nice in an English accent. Blimey, I'd betta get my jammies on and go have a spot of tea before I retire. See how cool that sounds?

My sissy who has lived in Australia for the last 13 years or more hasn't exactly developed an Aussie accent, which is the next best thing to a British accent, but she does say "Bloody" and their is an upward lilt to the end of every sentance. She also says "mate" alot. One other permanent change is the way she says "good" and "kids". She says them like an Aussie. Sort of like "good" (rhymes with rude) and "keeds".

Tomorrow, if I am doing boring work again, I am going to try talking to myself in a French accent.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!