Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:54 a.m. - 2006-03-02
Madge and dinner time conversations

REMEMBER MADGE???

Last night, for some odd reason, I dreamed of Madge the manicurist from the old Palmolive commercials. Remember Madge?

In my dream, Madge had really long, pink polished nails and she went around the country solving mysteries like a detective while stopping to soak peoples hands and do their nails. Weird???


Dinner time Conversation

Scene: I�m preparing Sunday dinner. Mother in Law is holding out a piece of newspaper and on it are various toe and finger nail clippings.

Mother In Law: �Look Paula, I sure did a good job clipping my nails��I clipped all around here and there and���..(droning on and on and on while I try not to puke in the crockpot chicken).


Preface to scene II: Jim Oberwiess is a candidate for Illinois State Governor. He ows a string of dairies here in Illinois that feature home delivery and a string of fancy, expensive Ice Cream shops.

Scene II: At the dinner table.

Mike: �I saw the funniest sign out side of the gun shop today. It was a campaign sign for Oberweiss and underneath the name is said �GOT GUY?�.

Me: (cocking my head, not understanding the ha ha)

Mike: �Got Guy???� Get it�.like Got Milk?�

Me: �But his name is Jim�

Mike: (Frustrated): �It�s just a funny play on words Paula�

Me: �I don�t get it�

Mike: (repeating) (very frustrated): �Got Guy?��.Like Got Milk?�

Me: (shrugging shoulders) � I guess I just don�t find it funny. Maybe if they said �Got Jim?�

Mike: �How do you think you are ever going to be a writer if you can�t even get a simple play on words?�

Me: �Did you ever think it was them that wrote that stupid sign that are the bad writers?�

Mother in Law: �I sure did a good job clipping my nails�.I clipped around and around and up and down and��.(droning on and on oblivious to our conversation).

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!