Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:31 p.m. - 2005-03-01
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

A New Mattress

8 years ago, I inherited my Mom and Dad's bed. It was bought in the mid 1950's and I guess it is certifiably an antique. It is beautiful. I also inherited the mattress that went with it. For the first 5 years I had it, my daughter slept on it. During that time she and her boyfreind would hole up in that room sitting or laying on that mattress and watch TV. This is when they were not laying entwined as one, flattening out my sofa. I have been using it for the past 3 years and every morning I wake up with a back ache....ok...an entire body ache.

I am cheap however and even the cheapest mattress sets cost about 400.00. Well, this weekend I sprung for a new one....and as long as I was springing, I got a good one.

Now I know that my former mattress was pretty well worn but this new one is so high and firm that I had to climb up into bed. I think I will by a little foot stool...that is how high and plumpy it is. It has a thick, cushy pillow top. My hubby surprised me yesterday by going out and getting me a thick, cushy, padded mattress pad, washing all my bed linens and putting all back togther so when I got home, this cushy, plumpy, new, clean little rectangular piece of heaven was all ready for me to take my head cold and snuggle up into it.

Boy did I sleep. As a matter of fact, I am going to go to bed early tonight just to have some extra time in my warm, cushy, snuggly new bed. This is the kind of new bed where you have to have a before bed ritual. A nice hot bath in some heavenly scented bath salts. Candles to add ambience, a big fluffy towel (preferrably pink) to dry off in and clean fresh snuggly flannel scotty dog PJ's to slip into.

A cup of the new Celestial Seasonings "Sleepy Time Tea" with Valerian and a couple of cookies. MMMMMMMMM. Then climb up into bed and, zzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzz zzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzz zzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Nite Nite...

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!