Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:45 a.m. - 2006-02-12
Eliots got it all wrong

It Is February That Is Cruel

I must state right here that I disagree with T.S. Eliot. April is not the cruellest month, February is.

In the midwest, winter starts it's creep somewhere around the first of November but we are fresh from the colors of autumn and from the thrill of Halloween. Thanksgiving and Christmas are but a stone's throw away and the preparations start with the onset of the cold.

Our hearts are kept warm by the merry making, the shopping, the decking of the halls and the food. By the time Christmas is over we are holiday worn and ready to pack it all in and recover physically and financially from the festivus.

Then comes February. Nothing much has recently happened and not much is going to happen. It is all made that much worse when the ground hog prounounces "6 more weeks of Winter", which would happen whether the rat saw it's shaddow or not but we don't want to hear it.

No...in February, there is nothing to do but be cold. At this point, the warmth of the sun and summery days are so far behind us that we don't remember how uncomfortable a 90 degree day with high humidity really was and the day when we can say we shall certainly have no more snow is yet antoher 2 months away.

So hear I sit, feeling like I shall never be warm again. My nose is runny and my lungs ache from a weeks worth of coughing. There is enough snow on the ground to warrant going out to shovel but not enough to be pretty. There is no holiday ahead and the merriment of the one behind has worn off. It still gets dark way too early and I am still getting dressed by moonlight in the morning.

What is this limbo called February. Have we committed some awful sin that requires 28 days to purge.

If I sound depressed. It is only because I have a terrible case of February.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!