Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:17 p.m. - 2007-01-30
Beauty amidst the freeze

The Beauty of a Winter Sunrise

My drive to work begins with a trip down a long country road. In the winter, I pull out of the garage and head eastward just as the daylight breaks. By the time I am in the middle of the forest on that long country road, the Sun appears, giant and deep orange, hanging low in the sky, it's glow pulsating through the leafless trees.

The contrast of this spectacular color against the pattern created by the twists, curls and knarls of the trees is stunning. Old Sol rising to escape from his iron cage.

It is a show that lasts only 5 minutes. By the time I exit the peaceful forest, he is high and pale yellow, unreachable in the winter chill.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!