Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:06 p.m. - 2005-01-24
I need some drugs

Fried Brain Cells

Imagine a picture of two scrambled eggs frying in a pan.

Caption: This is my brain....after work.

My brains are scrambled to begin with and after work they are fried. It took me 2 hours to go through my emails this morning. As fast as I would respond and clear them off, "BUDELINK", another one would pop on. My office is so quiet you could hear a pin drop except for "BUDELINK"..."BUDELINK"...the sound of 9 people in a small office within shouting distance of each other, communicating by email. We were all passing each other something else to do....constantly...until the sales meeting at 10:00AM.

The sales meeting went on for 2 1/2 hours. We discussed all the things we had to do and the short amount of time we had to do them. The sales meeting went 1/2 hour into my lunch hour and by the time I took care of the emails that accumulated during the meeting, I only had 15 minutes left for lunch.

I quickly downed a sandwich to keep the growlies out of my tummy and went back to work. The afternoon started quietly enough but by then everyone got tired of using email and the phone began to ring. Instead of accomplishing anything, my workload increased tenfold. I got absolutely nothing done except for sending and receiving more emails and attending a meeting for which I had to spend an hour typing the minutes of about how we had so much to do and when we were going to do it.

I am surprised that I am typing coherantly right now....hey..maybe i'm not...maybe this is all gibberish and only I can understand it.

I still like my job and they are nice to me there and butter me up and pat me on the back and pay me good money...but sheesh!!!

This year I forgot my nephew Joseph's birthday. I had to be reminded about it. Sunday I went to take him his present. I bought him a double deck of spiderman playing cards in a commemorative tin and a battery operated card shuffler and some classic novels like Kidnapped, Robinson Crusoe, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthurs Court and Sherlock Holmes. You know.....stuff they would never think to get out of the library. He got all excited over the card shuffler when my sister remarked that she didn't see any batteries.

I got the poor kid a gift he couldn't use right away because I didn't have enough brain cells left to realize that it didn't run on air.

Sissy picked some up for him last night so I hope he is happily shuffling cards and learning how to play poker from older brother Sam.

Linda's hubby is out of town on business. He called while I was there. He wondered where she had been earlier when he tried to call. I yelled so that he could hear me. "She was out with her lover." He told me I should write about it in my blog. So I am writing about it.

Well...It could happen.

G'night..I'm taking my fried and scrambled noggin to bed...in my scotty dog pj's.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!