Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:40 a.m. - 2005-01-22
Boy am I rambling today

I'M BAAAAACK

Boy, I love my new job but I am all used up by the end of the day. Havn't been to diaryland since it broke. The night it broke, I wrote a nice description of my trip to Peachtree University, a seedy office with a seedier back room, managed by seedy people to get trained on our new Peachtree Premium Accounting Software for Manufacturing. I have been using Peachtree for over a year for accounting only but this version incorporates the whole manufacturing process into it, which will be great once it is in full use, but getting there will be a bitch. The company owner is calling me The Peachtree Expert. I hope I can continue to BS him.

So far they think I am doing an awsome job. I have found the secret to BSing your way through something while looking highly intelligent.

You have no doubt heard the saying, "Better to keep your mouth shut and appear to be stupid than to open it and remove all doubt". Well it is true.

My sister can testify to the fact that once I open my mouth, I tend to go on and on and inevitably say too much. I will extrapolate this (because she is much to nice to say this herself)...that when I get nervous, I tend to start talking and once I let that genie out of the bottle...whammo....I am sure to say something stupid which I then run around and around in my brain for the next two days mentally kicking myself in the ass for having said.

Talking too much, or trying to verbally show your brilliance eventually will get anyone into trouble. Linda would be proud of me in this new corporate life if she could see me sitting there at those meetings...mouth firmly shut save to ask questions, eyes firmly fixed on the current speaker as if I am actually interested in what he is saying. The only time I open my mouth is when I know that what I have to say is 100 percent correct and helpful to the discussion at hand. It is using this method that I have managed to BS them into thinking that I am super smart and they actually take the suggestions I do open my mouth to offer. When I do open my mouth to speak....people actually listen. This is something I am not used to and could quite possible get a big head over.

Actually, I got the guts to go for this job and have learned alot about getting ahead in the corporate world of meetings and daunting tasks by watching my favorite show "The Apprentice."

This is the 3rd season and in the first two seasons, the people who made it to the top were the people who kept their mouths shut and quietly showed their strength rather than talk about it. This was something that my Mother tried in vain to teach me. Then again, who listens to their Mother.

It seems silly to say that you learn something from a reality TV show, but it is quite educational. In this show you see all these "accomplished" young people living togther in one small suite and you learn that they put their pants on the same way that you do...one leg at a time. You see the same insecurities and bad behavior you see from anyone else on the street, yet these people have already accomplished more at such a young age than most accomplish in a life time.

This season, it is 8 college educated accomplished young people against 8 people who have accomplished great things having nothing more than a high school education. So far in life, the "street smarts" have accomplished more than the "book smarts". In episode 1...first task...the "street smarts" blew the "book smarts" right out of the water.

Having no more than a high school education myself and knowing a number of college grads who are rather stupid....I am rooting for the "street smarts"...(Don't be offended college grad readers....I admire someone who had the stick-to-itivness to get a college degree and wish I had done so myself. Most college grads I know are super smart...I just happen to know a few who lack commen sense...those are the ones of whom I speak.)

Anyway...book smart or street smart...In the end what wins you a job working for The Donald is to keep your mouth shut, work hard in an organized fashion and keep your head below the fray.

OK...I was going to write something profound and here I just ran off at the fingers typing a bunch of gobbletygook. Since I have been keeping my mouth in check at work, I guess it has to break out somewhere.

Here is a riddle: You can send me your answer through my notes:

Mary's father has 5 daughters. NaNa, NeNe, NiNi, & NoNo are the names of the first four. What is the name of the 5th daughter?

When you give your answer, list whether you are a "book smart" or a "street smart" or a "total moron".

finally, I took the quiz that catinasnit suggested in her last posting. This is the kind of puppy I am.





You Are a Dachshund Puppy





Loyal and playful - with a good hunting instinct.
You sometimes go a little crazy and need to chase down a rabbit or two.


OH..yeah...one more thing. There is some awsome snow heading to my buddies in the East but I doubt it is the two feet the news people are scaring you with....perhaps 10 inches...maybe a foot. It is the wind that is coming behind it that will wreck havok..that's OK...I have enough chocolate and goodies to tide me through. I also have an excuse to spend the weekend in my PJ's. We will go dig out tomorrow afternoon.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!