Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:33 p.m. - 2006-01-13
Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou

Thank You

I just wanted to post tonight to thank all of you for the excellent ideas and support in handling living with Mom in law. I discussed some of them with Mike and we will definitely be putting some or pieces and parts of all into the mix.

Mom does not have Alzheimers, but a type of condition that has to do with a bad artery in her temporal lobe which she takes Prednesone for. Most of the time she is completely with it, just very old and very slow. I would decribe her dementia more as odd bouts of thinking that come and go and a few odd habits. Most of the things I complain about when writing about her are not caused by dementia at all and just are because she is a odd person...always has been.

Because she doesn't think of herself as old and because she highly resents her loss of independence, we have to handle certain things very carefully. We can't lie to her or try to fool her, she will never buy it. Our only option is to reason with her.

There were some wonderful suggestions we can work with like bells on the door to a wrist monitor and then of course alerting neighbors and police officers are something that we can do with out her even knowing.

If we put a bell on the door, she won't even think anything of it and if we give her a monitor to wear when she goes outside and just tell her it is in case she gets in trouble or needs to call us, I'm sure she will cooperate.

I am just overwhelmed with all the caring support I get here on diaryland and wanted to tell you all a big big Thank You from the bottom of my heart.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!