Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:48 p.m. - 2005-01-10
Under Water

Let Me Up For Some Air

OK, I am not complaining, I still like my job but I must say...I am under water. Every minute and a half someone throws a new task at me. All I had time to do today was take in more work. By the time I would take in a new task, ask the pertinent questions about it and put it where I could find it later with the proper notations so I wouldn't forget what it was, someone else would come with another task.

I have to admit that I am amazing myself. My mind has never been so sharp. I think it is because in order to start this new job I have literally put everything else in my life on hold. I am not thinking of ANYTHING except this job. I am getting to bed on time, not putting alot of effort into housekeeping or food planning. I am not worrying about anything else and when I have down time, I do mindless things like peruse the realestate internet site and dream, and sleep and just veg out and purge my brain for the next onslaught of stuff from work.

This should not be like this forever. We are in the middle of a huge transition. Once this transition is over with, alot of the things I am being asked to do will stop.

For over a year now, the job they are having me do was divided up between the Accountant and Vice President of the parent company and all the Engineers at my company. Now that I am here they are all cleaning out their offices and dumping on me....everyone all at once.

People are finding boxes of hanging file folders everywhere. I think every engineer had a stack of 4 or 5 boxes of 50 under their desks. They have brought them to me to "do something with". I think I will set up a stand outside on lunch and have a "Hanging file folder sale"...Donald Trumps empire couldn't use this many hanging file folders.

Today someone brought me a 5 x 5 acrylic mat to put under my desk, credenza and work table so I could roll around easily from one to the other. It will entail completely unplugging and moving everything in my area while I put it down. This will take about an hour or more of my valuable time. Could this wait until I had everything under control? ...NOOOOOO...the guy in the back was tired of looking at it. Now since I am here, I can uproot myself and put it down. My boss insists that this be done tomorrow.

I was introduced to the a concept that I have heard of but have never been privvy to today...The Corporate Meeting. I not only had to participte, I had to take the minutes. Now working at a pallet company is pretty Low Tech. This is an Engineering Firm and I don't understand diddly squat about Engineered systems and the lingo. I wrote furiously and was a bit worried I wouldn't be able to decipher my chicken scratch. In the end, I think I did pretty good. Must be all the years I have spent being married to a "Tech Head"...I knew Mikes incessant talking would come in handy some day...I must have picked up the terminology by osmosis. All in all the meeting went ok until someone (not me) farted in the conference room. Being a small, warm, air tight room, the fart pretty much stayed with us until the end. I am glad it was lunchtime by the time we were through. That deep breath of fresh air sure was sweet.

One thing good about being under water. The time zips by so fast.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!