Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 p.m. - 2005-01-07
A Swollen knee

A Swollen Knee

Now I have a swollen knee to go with my swollen head. Actually, it is because I have a swollen head that I have a swollen knee.

Yesterday, after all the ego strokin, I walker chipperly out the door. Head held high, spring in my step....then....Whommph!!!! I was down for the count. Black Ice. I wasn't watching where I was walking. I wasn't even trying to be careful, so full my head was.

The way I fell had my left knee going in the opposite direction of the "Indian style" sitting we all did in kindergarten. I sort of fell, knees touching, and my legs made a nice "W" shape.

My main concern was that one of the guys at work would come out and see me there and feel obligated to hoist my poundage up and I would reveal in other than a visual factor exactly how much I weigh. I envisioned someone helping only to be pulled down beside me on the ice.

My second concern was that it was broken. Getting up would prove or disprove that. I did hear a crunchy sort of noise when I went down.

I imagined myself slipping and sliding on the ice not being able to gain traction and having someone from inside the building come out and see the spectacle.

In the end, I slid my ass and "W" shaped knees over to a spot that was ice free and hoisted my own self up. Being able to stand and move around a bit revealed that nothing was broken and I figured that it would be a little sore.

Well, about 1AM, I woke up to excrutiating pain. It doesn't hurt to sit but it hurts to do anything else, even sneeze.

I'll have to remember that skipping merrily on the ice is a no no.

P.I. Yarnmsith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!