Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:55 p.m. - 2005-01-05
Just Bee Essing?...I Think Not

Made em Glad They Hired Me Today

I have a confession to make. I have been bullshitting my way through this whole job thing. This is not the real me. I remember as I asked Chander for that raise. My voice was quivering and I was visable shakey.

"Calm down", Chander said. "You shoudn't act so nervous, people will take advantage of you."

And that is exactly what he proceeded to do. He shouldn't have done that....that made me mad.

I guess I got so mad that I decided it was high time I stopped acting like a whimp. So I acted like I had guts. Between you and me folks....it was all a big act. That is why I have been so nervous about all this. I literally B.S.'d my way into this whole situation. Everytime I talked on the phone, every interview, every ounce of bravado displayed....All a big Friggin act. The only place I was real was here in Diaryland. Diaryland...where I could B.S. anyone and be anyone I wanted to be because you all really don't know me...This is where I was real.

I actually was flabbergasted when I pulled this whole Charade off and that is why I got so nervous about this job. For two days now, I was wondering when they were going to discover that I was not "All That". Today....I discovered I was.

Early this morning at 3AM, my eyes popped open wide as frying pans. I layed there and thought about the accounting conversion they wanted me to do. I have been acting like this was going to be smooth sailing all along. At 3AM this morning, I realized that the jig was up...this was going to take a long time and the best I could do was to keep up the act and keep fooling them until I got things under control.

The early morning thought process worked. Somewhere between 3AM and 6AM I figured out how to make this transition smooth and easy. I will have the new accounting functions transferred to a new system and even relieve the accountant from the parent company two weeks of work. I figured out how to make the transition, finish up the year 2004 accounting functions and close the year out myself with only 2 days on this job.

The General Manager, whom I kind of felt knew that I might be Bee Essing.....asked me how I came to figure out how to do it so easily. I told him that I figured it out at 3AM. Turns out that he thinks of things at 3AM too. I wasn't getting warm fuzzys from him but today he was my buddy. Then again, it could have been the low cut sweater I wore, but really...I think it was my brains and the fact that I was willing to sacrafice sleep for the company.

Now I haven't made the transition yet. There will of course be unforseen circumstances and things won't go exactly as easily as I might let on....but it should work. This will be alot of hard work, but I will learn about the inner workings of the company faster this way too. In the end, I will be a hero.

Now...here is the best part. The owner hired an outside I.T. consulting company. We met with them yesterday and they told him what I figured out how to do, couldn't be done. I outsmarted the I.T. guys. If I pull this off...it will be a real feather in my cap....if I wore a cap...maybe I could stick the feather behind my ear. I would rather have a flower though.

Any way....I am NOT Bee Essing about this one. I really Know I can do this. Like I said...it won't be easy and will be lots of hard work...but I CAN do this.

Maybe all along I was only Bee Essing myself. Maybe I can do this.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!