Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:51 p.m. - 2006-01-04
Please don't let me get this old.

Back to work

The end of one year and beginning of another is the most stressful time for a Bookkeeper. There is so much to do I can't focus on the big picture, just one thing at a time. I put in an extra hour last night, not for the company's benefit but for mine, hoping the rest of the week would be less stressful.

Came home to a tearful Mother in Law. My daughter gave her a box of candy which I know she took into her room and either squirreled it away or ate it and doesn't remember. Michelle also bought a box for some cousins of ours whom we havn't seen yet and left it for us to give to them. I guess MIL got into the candy in the gift bag thinking it was hers and ate the whole box. When she was told that it wasn't her candy she got all upset and then asked what WE did with her candy. I think she thinks we took it but she just doesn't remember eating it.

She cried herself to sleep and I feel bad for her. I told her not to worry, that we would replace it and the cousiin wouldn't even know but MIL is upset because it is not THE box that Michelle bought and she still is adamant that she didn't open hers.

There are days when I am sure she is suffering dementia and other days I think she is fine. I think she slips in and out of it. I know it seems like her talking about illness all the time is just rude, but I think it is all part of the dementia that seems to come and go. This is so hard and even harder on my husband because he feels sad that his Mother is slipping like this.

The other day, my large measuring cup was missing. Mike waited until she was involved in something and did a search of her room. He found it squirreled away 1/2 filled with coffee. He went to tell her about it and I told him not to tell her as it would only make her feel bad. I guess we will have to hide the things we don't want her to take and hope to God she doesn't get up early some morning and try to cook.

Such is life at the Yarnsmith Happy Rest Home.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!