Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:10 p.m. - 2005-01-03
Opportunity Knocks

A Good Move

Whew!!!! I am exhausted so I won't leave a long entry. Barely had enough energy to warm up my chicken noodle soup and get in my jammies.

All went very well today. I had the first day jitters and will probably continue to feel a little odd for the first week or so and of course learning new things is always tough. I am a little rusty because Central Pallet was not the professional organization that this place is.

Everyone is really nice. They bought me a brand new dell computer, my very own fax machine and brand new Epson printer that is my very own printer for only me to use.

I learned that even though this company is 6 years old, it was nothing more than a couple of Engineers who built specialized equipment that was tied to the parent company.

They have added new people in the last 5 or 6 months with the intention of seperating from the parent company and becoming an entity of their own. The plans are to grow the company to 10 times its size. The owner announced that with the addition of me to the team, we now have the resources to complete the seperation. He was all excited. He said that he feels he has assembled an excellent team. He wants us all to share in the growth.

This is the first job that I have ever had that treated me like a valued asset and not just "the girl". Actually, I don't really have a supervisor that will be breathing down my neck. I do report to the Vice President, but don't have anyone telling me what to do or how to do it. They expect me to know what to do and are treating me like a professional.

This is going to be the best move I ever made. It is going to be tough for a few weeks while I adjust and learn but once that initial period is over, I can see that God truly was looking out for me when this opportunity came my way. I just hope I don't disappoint anyone...I am going to work very very very hard.

Gotta go to bed now...I'm bushed.

P. I. Yarnsmith

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!